Major railways in Greater Bay Area

Updated: Mar 12, 2019 Print
Share - WeChat

Shenzhen-Maoming High-speed Railway

As the first high-speed rail line connecting the Pearl River Delta and the west of Guangdong, Shenzhen-Maoming High-speed Railway starts from Shenzhen North Railway Station, passes through Dongguan, Guangzhou, Zhongshan, Jiangmen, Yangjiang, and terminates at Maoming East Railway Station.

The railway has two sections – the Jiangmao (Jiangmen-Maoming) section and the Shenjiang (Shenzhen-Jiangmen) section. The Jiangmao section, stretching 266 km, was open to traffic in July 2018, while the Shengjiang section, with a length of 115.8 km, is still under construction.

Once the railway is opened to traffic, the travel time between Guangzhou and Maoming will be shortened to 2.5 hours from the current five hours, and that between Shenzhen and Maoming will be reduced to less than three hours from seven hours.


Shenzhen-Maoming High-speed Railway (the red line) stretches from Shenzhen North Railway Station to Maoming East Railway Station, and passes through Dongguan, Guangzhou, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Yangjiang. [Photo provided to]

Ganzhou-Shenzhen High-speed Railway

Ganzhou-Shenzhen High-speed Railway starts from Ganzhou West Railway Station in Jiangxi province in the north, runs south through Heyuan, Huizhou, Dongguan and Shenzhen in Guangdong province, and ends up at the Shenzhen North Railway Station. It covers 436.4 km.

It is part of the Beijing-Kowloon High-speed Railway, which connects Beijing and Hong Kong. The railway, after joining up with the Guangzhou-Hong Kong High-speed Railway, can reach Futian Railway Station in Shenzhen and then West Kowloon Railway Station.

Construction of the high-speed railway started in June 2018 and the line is expected to be open to traffic in 2021.

< 1 2 3 4 5

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号