Higher Education

Inner Mongolia University of Technology

Updated: Apr 8, 2018 Print
Share - WeChat


Inner Mongolia University of Technology (IMUT) [Photo/]

Inner Mongolia University of Technology (IMUT) in Hohhot developed from Suiyuan Higher Technical School, which was established in 1951 as the first higher learning institution in the newly formed Inner Mongolia autonomous region. In 1958, with support from Tsinghua University, the school became Inner Mongolia Engineering College, first under the direct administration of the Ministry of Mechanical Industry and later directly under the Ministry of Agricultural Machinery. In 1983, the college administration was transferred to the government of Inner Mongolia autonomous region. The college was upgraded again in 1993 and renamed Inner Mongolia University of Technology. The university's three campuses (Xincheng, Jinchuan and Junggar campuses) occupy 215 hectares.

Focused on traditional engineering disciplines, IMUT has grown into a multidisciplinary university offering undergraduate bachelor's, postgraduate master's and PhD programs in such diverse fields as technology, sciences, social sciences and humanities, economics, management, law, education and art.

The University employs 2,026 faculty and staff members, among whom there are 178 professors, 421 associate professors, 54 PhD student tutors and 557 master's student tutors. Approximately 90 percent of faculty members hold either a master's or a PhD.

IMUT currently offers five featured disciplines approved by the State Ministry of Education and four undergraduate experimental programs geared towards cultivating outstanding engineers. In 2006, IMUT's undergraduate teaching and educational standard was rated ‘Excellent’ by the Ministry of Education and, in 2012, it rated among the Top 50 Best Graduate Employment Universities.

Xincheng Campus

Address: No 49 Ai’min Street, Xincheng district, Hohhot, Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Postcode: 010051

Jinchuan Campus

Address: Jinchuan Industrial Park, Hohhot, Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Postcode: 010080

Junggar Campus

Address: Dalu new district, Juungar Banner, Ordos, Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Postcode: 010321


Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号