Jiangyin Museum
江阴市博物馆
Address: No 128 Chengjiangzhong Road, Jiangyin, Jiangsu province
Opening hours: 9 am-4:30 pm (last entry 4 pm)
Closed Mondays (except for national holidays)
General admission: Free
Tel: 0510-86862655
The Jiangyin Museum was established in 1988, initially situated in the Jiangyin Binjiang Fortress Tourist Resort in Wuxi, Jiangsu province, and was relocated to the Tianhua Cultural Center in 2005. It was recognized as a national first-class museum in 2024.
Covering an area of 12,000 square meters, the museum is a three-storey building with the first and second floors serving as exhibition halls. It houses 13 exhibition halls with different themes, including the Jiangyin Ancient History Hall, Porcelain Hall, Bronze Ware Hall, and Buddhist Cultural Relics Hall.
The museum's collection consists of over 10,000 cultural relics, mainly Neolithic pottery and jade, porcelain and lacquerwares of the Song (960-1279) and Yuan (1271-1368) dynasties, gold and silver wares of the Song, Yuan, and Ming (1368-1644) dynasties, and paintings and calligraphy of the Ming and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties. Notably, the collection is celebrated for its gold and silver wares.
The Jiangyin Museum also highlights its ongoing archaeological endeavors. Since the archaeological excavation of the Huashan Site in 1998, the museum has conducted scientific excavations of ancient sites and tombs, such as the Gaochengdun Liangzhu Cultural Site, the Qitoushan Majiabang Cultural Site, and the Shecheng Site.
In recent years, the museum has expanded its offerings with various cultural and creative products inspired by its collection, such as fridge magnets, bookmarks, and mooncakes, which has significantly boosted the promotion of Jiangyin Museum and the city's cultural outreach.