Foreign scientists honored

Updated: May 30, 2023 Print
Share - WeChat

Vice-Premier Liu He met the winners of the 2018 China International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award on Jan 8.

The five foreign scientists are US metallurgical engineer Jan Miller, UK-US molecular chemist James Stoddart, US material physicist Zhu Yimei, US ocean geochemist Peter Brewer and Swedish bioengineer Sun Licheng.

Liu extended congratulations to the five winners on behalf of the government, and expressed gratitude for their contributions to the development of science and technology, as well as the modernization of China.

China is transforming from its high-speed development stage to a high-quality development stage, Liu said. To enhance high-quality development, more efforts should be made to achieve progress in science and technology and promote creativity and innovation in all aspects.

In 2019, the government will strengthen intellectual property protection, intensify industry-university cooperation to combine market demands with scientific research, and enhance fundamental research to provide a driving force for innovation and creativity. International cooperation will also be promoted, so that China can draw on foreign countries’ experiences.

Jay Siegel, dean of the School of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology at Tianjin University, said cooperative scientific exchange is crucial to building an innovative society in China.

“By exposure to thinking outside your customary ways, you increase the generation of unconventional ideas, which leads to innovations,” he added.

Since 1995, a total of 185 foreign experts, two international organizations and one foreign organization have been honored with the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award.

Copyright©2023 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号