The largest in area of all the province-level administrative regions of China

Updated: Jun 2, 2021 Print
Share - WeChat

Population: 25,852,345 (2020)

Area: 1,660,000 square kilometers

Located in Northwest China, the Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region is the largest in area of all the province-level administrative regions in China. It covers 1.66 million square kilometers, one-sixth of Chinese territory.

Situated in the hinterland of the Eurasian continent, Xinjiang borders eight countries: Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Mongolia, India and Afghanistan. Xinjiang served as a key hub on the renowned Silk Road in ancient China, and is now on the railway line leading to the second Eurasian Continental Bridge.

Xinjiang is rich in natural resources such as rivers, minerals, forests, plants, animals and mountains. It has 500 rivers in the basins of Tianshan Mountain including the Tarim River and the Ili River.

Once an agricultural region, Xinjiang is abundant in minerals and oil. Under the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), today's Xinjiang plays a major role in the nation's economic development. Its role is intensified by ties with inland regions as well as bordering areas to further promote the development of agriculture, industry, technology, education and health services.

In 2018, Xinjiang's GDP reached some 1.22 trillion yuan ($174 billion), up 6.1% year-on-year. Its import and export value was $20 billion, with exports totaling $16.42 billion and imports surpassing $3.6 billion, up 22.4% year-on-year.

In terms of economic structure, tertiary industry grew by 8%, accounting for 45.8% of total GDP.

Administrative divisions:
Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region governs 14 prefecture-level regions, including four cities: Urumqi city, Karamay city, Turpan city, Hami city, five autonomous prefectures: Changji Hui autonomous prefecture, Bortala Mongolian autonomous prefecture, Bayingolin Mongol autonomous prefecture, Ili Kazak prefecture, Kezilesu Kirgiz autonomous prefecture, and five prefectures: Kumul prefecture, Turpan prefecture, Aksu prefecture, Kashi prefecture, Hotan prefecture, Tacheng prefecture and Altay prefecture, 24 county-level cities, 62 counties and six autonomous counties.

Sister cities

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号