North Minzu University

Updated: Aug 2, 2019 Print
Share - WeChat

North Minzu University, in Yinchuan city, the capital of Ningxia Hui autonomous region, is an important base for cultivating excellent ethnic minority college students, for studying ethnic theories and policies, and for carrying forward the excellent cultures of various nationalities. It is also an important window for foreign exchange and presenting China’s ethnic policies.

The university, formerly known as Second Northwest University for Nationalities, was built in 1984 and renamed North Minzu University in 2008.

The university covers 108.27 hectares., and has more than 20,000 postgraduates, undergraduates and preppies from 56 ethnic groups from 31 provinces, cities and autonomous regions, making it a miniature of the big family of the Chinese nation.

The disciplines and specialties of the university cater to the needs and development of ethnic regions. There are 10 disciplines – literature, science, engineering, law, history, management, economics, arts, pedagogy and medical science – and 71 undergraduate programs, including international economics and trade, information engineering and animation. It has 16 provincial and ministerial key disciplines, which include the history of Chinese ethnic minorities, linguistics and applied linguistics, four specialties with national characteristics including materials science and engineering, nine specialties with provincial and ministerial advantages and distinctive features including Chinese language and literature, four provincial and ministerial key specialties including law, as well as seven provincial and ministerial key specialties of the 13th Five-Year Plan (2016-2020) including automation.

The university also actively carries out exchanges and cooperation with international and domestic higher learning institutions, scientific research institutions, local governments, industries and enterprises. It has maintained sound cooperation with universities at home and abroad, such as Peking University, Hefei University of Technology, Xi’an Jiaotong University, University of Science and Technology Beijing, Lanzhou University, Louisiana State University, University of Wisconsin at Stout, Tilburg University, University Utara Malaysia, Technological University of Malaysia-UTM, Université Du Vin, Chiang Mai University, Khartoum University and Benha University.

Address: 204, Wenchang North St, Xixia district, Yinchuan, Ningxia Hui autonomous region
Postcode: 750021
Tel: +86-951-2068101
Fax: +86-951-2066309

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号