Higher Education

Nanjing Normal University

Updated: May 13, 2019 Print
Share - WeChat

Nanjing Normal University is located in Nanjing, the ancient capital of six dynasties in history. It is a key university of Jiangsu Province and one of the 211 Project institutions. Its history can be traced back to Sanjiang Normal School established in 1902. It was then operated under a series of names including Liangjiang Excellent Normal School, Nanjing Higher Normal School, Southeast University, No. 4 Zhongshan University, Jiangsu University, Central University, and Nanjing University. Another source came from Huiwen institute set up in 1888, which developed into the private Jinling University, and became National Jinling University after merging Jinling Women's College of Arts and Sciences (once under the name of the Private Jinling Women’s University). In 1952 when the Chinese institutions of higher learning underwent a nationwide reorganization, Nanjing Teachers’ College came into being with departments from Nanjing University, Jinling University and a number of other institutions. It became Nanjing Normal University in January, 1984, and merged Nanjing Advanced College of Dynamics in March, 2000. The university provides programs in various areas such as liberal arts, history, philosophy, education, science, engineering, economics, law, management, agriculture, and medicine.

Nanjing Normal University has been serving as a cradle for advanced teacher education in China. In its history of more than one hundred years, the university enjoyed leadership by such famous educationalists as Li Ruiqing, Guo Bingwen, and Chen Heqin. Many renowned teachers and specialists taught here, including educationalists Tao Xingzhi and Wu Yifang, Tang Guizhang, master in poetry, Li Xudan, humanistic geologist, Chen Bangjie, specialist in bryology, Gao Juefu, specialist in the history of psychology, Xu Beihong, Zhang Daqian and Fu Baoshi, masters of arts. At present, there are a large number of scholars well-known home and abroad who engage in research, publishing and teaching at the university. Their efforts and contributions have formulated an academic tradition in pursuit of truth, as seen in the university motto: A virtuous and loving life, a path of learning and practice.

At present, the university claims three separate campuses, namely the Suiyuan campus, Xianlin campus and Zijin campus, covering a total area of more than 2 million square meters. In the 24 schools and colleges are enrolled 36,093 students for studies in 76 undergraduate degree programs, 168 master’s degree programs, 82 doctoral degree programs and continuing education programs.

International cooperation has always been an integral part of operation at Nanjing Normal University. The university is among the first that were authorized to be open to the world. It is also the National Base for Teaching Chinese As a Second Language, and the first National Base for Teaching Chinese to Overseas Chinese. The University has 4 Training Centers including the UNESCO international Rural Education Research and Training Center. It has established institutional links with more than 119 universities in about 28 countries and regions and accepts over 1,000 students from different counties every year.

Nanjing Normal University is striving to become a comprehensive university of unique features in its teaching and research in line with the state policy of revitalizing the country with science and education.

Official Website:


Copyright©2023 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号