About China

Administrative Division

Updated: Dec 12, 2018 Print
Share - WeChat

According to the Constitution of the People’s Republic of China, the country’s administrative units are currently based on a three-tier system.

1.The country is divided into provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities directly under the Central Government;

2.Provinces and autonomous regions are divided into autonomous prefectures, counties, autonomous counties and cities; 

3. Counties, autonomous counties and cities are divided into townships, ethnic minority townships, and towns.

At the moment, China has 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities directly under the Central Government and 2 special administrative regions.

They are: Hebei province,

Shanxi province,

Liaoning province,

Jilin province,

Heilongjiang province,

Jiangsu province,

Zhejiang province,

Anhui province,

Fujian province,

Jiangxi province,

Shandong province,

Henan province,

Hubei province,

Hunan province,

Guangdong province,

Hainan province,

Sichuan province,

Guizhou province,

Yunnan province,

Shaanxi province,

Gansu province,

Qinghai province,

Taiwan province,

Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region,

Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region,

Tibet Autonomous Region,

Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region,

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region,

Beijing municipality,

Tianjin municipality,

Shanghai municipality,

Chongqing municipality,

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

and Macao Special Administrative Region.

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号 京公网安备 11010502032503号