Capital of Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Updated: Jun 1, 2021 Print
Share - WeChat

Population: 3,446,100 (2020)

Location: in the south central part of Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Area: 17,200 square kilometers


Hohhot has topped the list of the capital cities of China's five autonomous regions for ethnic minorities in terms of economic development.

In 2018, the city's GDP was reach 270 billion yuan ($39.77 billion).

Administrative divisions

Hohhot city governs four districts - Xincheng district, Huimin district, Yuquan district and Saihan district - as well as five counties - Tumd Left banner, Togtoh county, Horinger county, Wuchuan county and Qingshuihe county.

Sister cities

International Sister Cities

Date Signed

Okazaki, Japan 

August 10, 1987

Ulan Bator, Mongolia

December 10, 1991

Los Angeles County, United States

October 2, 1998

Ulan-Ude, Russia

December 10, 2000

Gwanak District, Seoul, South Korea

August 30, 2012


Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号