Hangzhou, capital of Zhejiang province

Updated: May 13, 2020 Print
Share - WeChat

Population: 10,360,000 (2019)

Area: 16,596 square kilometers


Hangzhou, the capital of Zhejiang province, is the economic center of the province. In 2019, the city achieved steady economic growth. It realized GDP of 1.54 trillion yuan ($216.84 billion), at a growth rate of 6.8 percent. 

In 2019, the city achieved further optimization in industry structure. Hangzhou's primary, secondary and tertiary industries contributed added value of 32.6, 487.5 and 1.02 trillion yuan, up 1.9 percent, 5.0 percent and 8.0 percent respectively. The ratio of the three industries is at 2.1:31.7:66.2.

Administrative divisions

The city of Hangzhou has jurisdiction over nine urban districts (Shangcheng, Xiacheng, Jianggan, Gongshu, Xihu (West Lake), Binjiang, Xiaoshan, Yuhang, and Fuyang), two county-level cities (Jiande and Lin'an) and two counties (Tonglu and Chun'an). 

Sister cities


Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号