Presidential Palace

Updated: Nov 21, 2019 Print
Share - WeChat
The gate of the Presidential Palace [Photo/VCG]

Located in Nanjing’s Xuanwu district, the Presidential Palace has a history of more than 600 years.

As a famous tourist attraction, the Presidential Palace is also a national cultural heritage conservation unit owning many well-preserved remains of Chinese and Western architecture. It has a beautiful natural environment and a nearly 30,000 square meters leisure zone.

On Jan 1, 1912, Dr Sun Yat-sen was sworn in as the Provisional President of the Republic of China in the Presidential Palace. During the following 15 years, the place became the official residence of the Jiangsu Military Governors, the Vice-President’s office, and so on.

In 1927, the Nanjing National Government was established and the place became its government offices. After the victory of the Anti-Japanese War, it was still the offices of the national government and the presidential office space.

The reception lounge of the Presidential Palace [Photo/VCG]

On April 24, 1949, the People’s Liberation Army took over the Presidential Palace, and it was then used as the Jiangsu province government offices. In 1998, the people's Government of Jiangsu Province decided to rename it as the Nanjing Historical Remains Museum of Chinese Modern History. After a couple of years of establishment, the Presidential Palace has its current appearance and use.

The total area of the Presidential Palace covers a space of 90,000 sq m and is divided into 3 parts: the Central Line, the West Garden (Xu Yuan Garden), and the East Garden.

Tel: +86-25-84578888 (tickets center)
Opening hours: 8:30 am to 6 pm (from March 1 to Oct 30)
8:30 am to 5 pm (from Nov 1 to Feb 28 or 29)
Tickets: 40 yuan ($5.96) or 37 yuan if you buy online
Official website: (English)

The tour guide map of the Presidential Palace [Photo/]


Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号