Cooperation Platforms

Demonstration zone for comprehensive cooperation: Nansha of Guangzhou

Updated: Mar 8, 2019 Print
Share - WeChat

Nansha of Guangzhou


The new look of Nansha, Guangzhou, Guangdong province [Photo/VCG]


A port in Nansha, Guangzhou [Photo/VCG]

Nansha district was established in the southernmost area of Guangzhou, the capital of Guangdong province, upon the approval of the State Council on April 28, 2005. In September 2012, the district was upgraded into a national new district.

Nansha is located at the geometric center of the Greater Pearl River Economic Region. It is the only access to the sea in Guangzhou, and about 38 nautical miles from Hong Kong and 41 nautical miles from Macao.

Covering 803 square kilometers, Nansha is composed of nine towns and neighborhoods: Wanqinsha town, Huangge town, Hengli town, Dongyong town, Dagang town, Lanhe town, Nansha neighborhood, Zhujiang neighborhood, and Longxue neighborhood. At the end of 2016, there were 789,400 permanent residents in Nansha.

Nansha has focused on the construction of strategic industries to improve core competitiveness. Major industries in Nansha include shipping logistics services, high-end business and trade services, smart technology, high-end equipment technology, tourism services, and healthcare.

In 2017, Nansha achieved 139.2 billion yuan ($20.7 billion) in GDP, an increase of 10.5 percent year-on-year. Its fixed assets investment was worth 74.5 billion yuan, up by 3.9 percent year-on-year, with a major investment in its tertiary industry.

Official website: 


< 1 2

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号