Things to Do

Explore E China's Shandong province in six days Print
Share - WeChat

Day 5: spiritual tour of Tai'an

The symbol of Tai'an is Mount Tai. The name Tai'an is also derived from the mountain, implying that "the country is prosperous and the people live in peace".

Chief of the Five Sacred Mountains, Mount Tai is a symbol of the great Chinese national spirit and the epitome of Chinese civilization. Since ancient times, Mount Tai has been a sacred place for emperors from all dynasties to hold worship ceremonies and offer sacrifices to Heaven. Enshrined by such worship ceremonies, it also attracted believers of both Confucianism and Taoism, men of letters and famous people whose residencies and visits left behind more than 1,000 places of interest, such as the Diamond Sutra inscription rocks.

Besides, Mount Tai boasts magnificent natural views, including craggy cliffs, deep canyons, grotesque peaks with strange rocks, luxuriant vegetation, flowing springs and twittering birds. The mountain also has marvelous unique wonders: the rising sun at dawn, the jade plate of the sea of clouds, and rosy clouds at sunset.

A spectacular sunrise on Mount Tai [Photo/VCG]

At the foot of Mount Tai is Dai Temple, known as the temple to the god of Mount Tai, for that god was also called Dai in ancient times. The temple is the exact place where the worship ceremonies were held.

The layout of the temple accords with imperial palace architecture, featuring a bilateral symmetry on a north-south axis and spreading over 96,000 sq m.

Tiankuang Hall at the center of Dai Temple [Photo/IC]

After fully enjoying your spiritual tour in Tai'an, it's time to leave for Qufu in Jining, the last stop on your six-day trip through Shandong province. The best way to get from Tai'an to Qufu is to take a coach from the South District of Tai'an Bus Terminal; it will take about one and a half hours.

< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2019

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号 京公网安备 11010502032503号