Higher Education

Taishan Medical University

Updated: Apr 16, 2018 Print
Share - WeChat

Taishan Medical University, located in Taian, Shandong, China, was founded in 1891 as the Huamei Hospital Medical School. The university was co-founded with Gonghe Medical School in 1903. Taishan Medical University was originally named Medical College of Qilu University in 1903. In 1952, the Medical College of Qilu University merged with Shandong Medical College. In 1970, Shandong Medical College merged with Shandong College of Traditional Chinese Medicine and moved to the Loude district of Xintai, a suburb of Taian. The Loude Branch College of Shandong Medical College was founded in 1974 and then moved to Taian in 1979. Its name was changed into the Taian Branch College of Shandong Medical College. With the approval of the State Council in 1981, its name was then changed to Taishan Medical University.

Taishan Medical University passed the Undergraduate Teaching Standard Evaluation by the Ministry of Education in November 2006 and received an award for excellence. The University has 19 scientific research institutes: the Institute of Atherosclerosis, Institute of Radiation Technology, Institute of Medicine, Institute of Neurobiology, Institute of Epidemiology, Institute of Sports Medicine, Institute of Hepatopancreatobiliary Surgery, Institute of Reproductive Health, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Institute of Larithmics, Institute of Mount Tai Culture, Institute of Immunology, Institute of Pathogenic Biology, Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology, Institute of Medicinal Biotechnology, Institute of Health Policy and Management, Institute of Medical Humanities and the Institute of Brain Science. Pharmacology, Medical Imaging & Nuclear Medicine and Pathogenic Biology are Provincial key disciplines included in the Twelfth Five-Year Plan, with Pharmacology also being classified as a provincial characteristic key discipline; Medical Imaging, Geriatrics and Epilepsy Diagnosis and Treatment Center are provincial key disciplines of Medical and Health; The laboratory of Cerebral Microcirculation and laboratory of Atherosclerosis are provincial key laboratories of the Twelfth Five-Year Plan.

The University has four authorized first-class master's degrees—Clinical Medicine, Basic Medicine, Pharmacy and Nursing. The University has 33 different master's degree programs: Medical Imaging & Nuclear Medicine, Surgery, Pathology & Pathophysiology, Geriatrics, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pharmacology, Sports Medicine, Neurobiology, Epidemic & Health Statistics, Human Anatomy & Embryonic Tissue, Immunology, Pathogen Biology, Neurology, Nursing and Oncology. 

The University develops international cooperative education, scientific research, and medical and cultural exchanges and has stable relationships with universities in 22 nations and regions, such as the U.S., Japan, Korea, UK, Ukraine, and Singapore. 

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号