Scenic Spot

Yan'an Revolutionary Heritage Site, Shaanxi province

Updated: May 12, 2020 Print
Share - WeChat

Yan'an Revolutionary Heritage Site, Shaanxi province
(延安革命纪念地景区 yán ān gé mìng jì niàn dì jǐngqū)

Location:Zaoyuan Road, Yan'an city, Shaanxi province
Scenic Spot Level: AAAAA
Opening Hours: 8:00-18:00 (all year round)
Ticket Price: 55 yuan ($7.77)/person

A loop-route bus (five yuan per person) with 15-minute intervals is available in the scenic area. It departs and arrivesat the visitor center at Baota Pagoda.

The Yan'an Revolutionary Memorial Hall[Photo/]

Yan'an Revolutionary Heritage Site in Shaanxi province includes five attractions representing 445 revolutionary sites in Yan'an, and features the legacies of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CCCPC). The first generation of Chinese revolutionaries under the leadership of Mao Zedong (1893-1976) stayed there after the Long March from 1935 to 1948. The five attractions are Baota Mountain, Zaoyuan Revolutionary Site, Yangjialing Revolutionary Site, the Site of the CCCPC Northwest Bureau and theYan'an Revolutionary Memorial Museum.

The Baota Pagoda

The Baota Pagoda in Yan'an[Photo/]

The Baota Pagoda (Pagoda of the Lingshan Temple) is a keylandmark of the Yan'an Revolutionary Heritage Site. It was built between 766 and 779 during the Tang Dynasty(618-907). The nine-storey octagonal pagoda has undergone several major renovations throughout history and now stands 44 meters high with a circumference of 36.8 m. It is open to the public at the north entrance, from where they canascendto the top.

Yan'an Revolution Memorial Hall
Yan'an Revolution Memorial Hall is located in Yan'ancity, northwest of the Baota Pagoda, one kilometer from the city. Founded in July 1950, it was one of the first revolutionary memorials built after the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949. Two permanent exhibitions on the local history of the revolution and the CPC’s self-governance in the Yan'an era are available.

Zaoyuan Revolutionary Site
Zaoyuan Revolutionary Site is a memorial site for the revolution army headed by Mao Zedong's CCCPC in the late War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression (1931-45) and the War of Liberation (1946-49).

Yangjialing Revolutionary Site

The Yangjialing Revolutionary Site in Yan'an [Photo/]

This site is located two km northwest of Yan'an city. It was the seat of the CCCPC departments and the living quarters of CPC leaders including Mao Zedong, Zhu De (1886-1976), Zhou Enlai (1898-1976) and Liu Shaoqi (1898-1969) during the period between late 1938 andearly 1947.

Northwest Bureau Site
Established in 1941, the CCCPC Northwest Bureau was responsible for dealing with affairs in the Shaanxi-Gansu-Ningxia Border Region and other provinces in Northwest China.


Copyright©2021 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号京公网安备 11010502032503号