Scenic Spot

The Eight Springs Gorge of Taihang Mountain Grand Canyon Scenic Area, Shanxi province Print
Share - WeChat

The Eight Springs Gorge of Taihang Mountain Grand Canyon Scenic Area, Shanxi province
(太行山大峡谷八泉峡景区tài háng shāndà xiá gǔbā quánxiá jǐng qū)

Location: Taihang Mountain Grand Canyon Scenic Area, Huguan county, Changzhi, Shanxi province
Websites: (En) (Cn)
Scenic Spot Level: AAAAA
Opening Hours:
7:00-16:00 (April-October)
8:00-15:00 (November-March)
Ticket Price: 100 yuan ($14.30)/person
1. Half-price concessions for the general admission of minors aged seven to 18, full-time university undergraduates and below (excluding graduate students, short-term training students, adult continuing education students).
2. Children aged six and under, or who are 120cmor less in height, disabled visitors, and senior citizens aged 60 and over, with valid ID certificates, are free of charge.
3. Packaged ticket price: 180 yuan per person, including scenic shuttle bus (round trip), cruise ship (single trip), turning ropeway (single trip), and sightseeing elevator (single trip).

The above information is for reference only. Please refer to the latest notice.

Autumn scenery of the Eight Springs Gorge. [Photo/]

The Eight Springs Gorge (Baquanxia), known as "the most imposing gorge in Taihang Mountains", is a mixture of natural scenery and modern touches. It is located in the middle section of the Grand Canyon of Taihang Mountain, with an area of 24.11 square kilometers, a minimum altitude of around 600 meters, a maximum altitude of more than 1,400 m, and a maximum drop of about 1,100 m. It has a complete set of facilities, and is a beautiful and representative scenic spot showing the essence of Taihang Mountain.

The Eight Springs Gorge has won many honors, including the National AAAA Grade Scenic Area, National Forest Park, and National Geological Park. It was also named one of China's Top 10 Most Beautiful Canyons.

It was originally named "eight channels of water" for the eight streams of spring water which originated from the same spot in the canyon. In Eight Springs Gorge, the magnificence of the northern mountains and the softness of the southern rivers blend together, with mountains, cliffs, stones, forests, flowing springs and clear pools. The gorge has four main scenic areas, including 36 scenic spots.

Its developer, Shanxi Taihang Mountain Grand Canyon Tourism Development Co Ltd, adheres to the principle of placing equal emphasis on the protection of resources and the development of scenic spots, in order to protect ecological and human environment. On the basis of scientific planning, moderate development and standardized management, the company strives to make Taihang Mountain Grand Canyon an excellent place for natural sightseeing, ecotourism, geological research, leisure and vacations.

The Eight Springs Scenic Area was originally named 'eight channels of water' for the eight streams of spring water originating from the same place in the canyon. [Photo/]


Last Updated: Apr 26, 2020

Copyright©2022 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号京公网安备 11010502032503号