China's Guangdong to offer 144-hour visa-free transit

Updated: Apr 30, 2019 Xinhua Print
Share - WeChat


Photo taken on Sept. 12, 2018 shows Terminal 2 of Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport in south China's Guangdong Province. [Photo by Deng Hua/Xinhua]

Starting Wednesday, nationals from 53 countries can enjoy a 144-hour visa-free period when transiting through southern China's Guangdong province.

The new move, approved by China's State Council, is an extension of the 72-hour visa-free transit policy currently adopted in the province.

They can enter Guangdong via its three airports, namely Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'anInternational Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport, and exit via the province's 32 ports.

The policy applies to passengers from 53 countries including Britain, the United States, Australia, Japan, Denmark, France, Germany and Russia. They are required to carry effective international travel documents and have onward travel tickets with confirmed dates and seats within 144 hours.

Lin Weixiong, vice director of the Guangdong provincial public security department, said the policy was expected to attract more overseas tourists and boost tourism and civil aviation in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area.

Since 2013, the State Council has approved 72-hour visa-free transit in 18 cities for eligible international travelers and later extended the period to 144 hours in a number of cities, including Beijing, Shanghai, Nanjing, Shijiazhuang and Shenyang. 

Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号 京公网安备 11010502032503号