Vaccines and Immunization

Classification of Chinese vaccines

Updated: Dec 20, 2018 Print
Share - WeChat

According to the Regulation on the Administration of Vaccine Circulation and Inoculation issued by the State Council in 2005, vaccines in China are divided into two categories.

Category I vaccines refers to the free vaccines provided to citizens by the government. They include vaccines in the national immunization program, vaccines added by the authority of provinces, autonomous regions, and municipalities in the practice of the immunization program, and vaccines used in an emergent vaccination or group immunization organized by the government or the health authority at county level or above. Citizens must be vaccinated in line with government regulations.

Currently, Category I refers to the routine immune vaccines for children, such as vaccines for hepatitis B, BCG, live attenuated polio, DPT, measles, mumps, hepatitis A, group A meningococcal disease, group A+C meningococcal disease and Japanese encephalitis. In addition, hemorrhagic fever vaccine for particular groups of people and anthrax vaccines and leptospirosis vaccines for emergent vaccination are also included.

Category II refers to other vaccines provided to recipients on demand and at their expense. The common Category II vaccines mainly cover influenza, varicella, pneumonia, and rabies. Citizens can decide whether to get vaccinated according to their own situations and their doctor's suggestions.

Note: The article is for reference only. For more detailed information, you can consult doctors at inoculation institutions or visit the official website of the disease prevention and control center in your place of residence.

Copyright©2023 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号 京公网安备 11010502032503号