Home> Topics > Travel and Tourism
Ten lesser-known but amazing water towns in China

Regions of China


Heilongjiang province

Heilongjiang lies in the northeast of China, and borders Russia in the east, Wusuli River in the north, Inner Mongolia in the west and Jilin Province in the south.

Jilin province

Located in the center of Northeast China, Jilin province shares borders with Russia and Korea in the southeast, adjacent to Heilongjiang province in the north.

Liaoning province

As the southernmost province of the three provinces in northeast China, its proximity to the sea has given it commercial and strategic advantages throughout its history.

Hebei province

Hebei province, with its beautiful Capital, Shijiazhuang, is located to the north of the Yellow River, and to the east of the Taihang Mountains.

Beijing municipality

Being capital of the People's Republic of China, Beijing is the nation's political, economic, and cultural center.

Tianjin municipality

Tianjin boasts the largest artificial harbor in northern China with 30 different sea routes and is a famous tourist city in China as well.

Inner Mongolia autonomous region

Inner Mongolia autonomous region, bordering to the north with both the Republic of Mongolia and Russia, is the widest province in China.

Gansu province

Located in the upper reaches of the Yellow River, northwest China, Gansu is one of the cradles of Chinese cultures. It occupies a total area of 450,000 square kilometers.

Qinghai province

Named after Qinghai Lake, the largest inland saltwater lake in China, Qinghai province is located in the northeastern part of the Qinghai-Tibetan Plateau in western China.

Xinjiang Uyghur autonomous region

Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region has a unique landscape which is called 'three mountains surrounding two basins'.

Ningxia Hui autonomous region

Ningxia bordered by Gansu to the south, Shaanxi to the east, and the Inner Mongolia autonomous region to the north, and is one of the five ethnic minority autonomous regions in China.

Shanxi province

Shanxi province is located in Central China, the west of Taihang Mountains and the east of the Yellow River, and the capital city is Taiyuan. It is also one of the birthplaces of Chinese civilization.

Shandong province

Shandong province is situated in the eastern part of China on the lower reaches of the Yellow River. it is a coastal province in what has traditionally been considered northern China.

Jiangsu province

Jiangsu, a fertile 'land of fish and rice' since ancient times, is a province with a long history, abundant highlights and relatively developed economy.

Henan province

Highlight of Henan province, Songshan Mountain lies southwest of Zhengzhou and it is one of the most famous mountains in China because of the rugged beauty of its peaks and the Bonsai-like appearance of its beautiful old trees.

Anhui province

Covering an area of 130,000 square kilometers, Anhui province boasts of abundant tourism resources, and is a top tourist attraction among many in the Southeast.

Shanghai municipality

The largest city in China is also its most cosmopolitan, offering visitors a chance to experience the past, present, and future all at once.

Zhejiang province

Zhejiang province has a variety of cultural and natural attractions. West Lake is a large urban park encompassing a lake in Hangzhou.

Jiangxi province

Jiangxi province is a showcase for natural beauty. Visitors will find it hard to leave its beautiful mountains, lakes and rivers.

Chongqing municipality

Chongqing is the largest municipality in southwest China. It is a modern port city on the upper reaches of the Yangtze River at the confluence of the Yangtze and Jialing Rivers.

Sichuan province

Sichuan is one of the most popular and largest tourist destinations in China. It is an abundant land full of places with impressive culture and magical nature.

Tibet autonomous region

Tibet has various complex landforms such as high and steep mountains, deep valleys, glaciers, bare rock and the Gobi Desert.

Hunan province

Hunan has a humid, subtropical climate. The monsoon rain falls mostly in April, May, and June. July and August are uncomfortably hot and humid.

Fujian province

Fujian province, with its capital Fuzhou, is on China's southeastern coast.It faces the island province of Taiwan across Taiwan Strait to the east.

Guizhou province

One of the greatest attractions to Guizhou is the Huangguoshu Waterfall, known to be the biggest waterfall in China.

Yunnan province

Yunnan, which refers to 'the place south of the colorful clouds', or 'the place south of Yunling Mountain', is the most southwest province of China.

Guangxi Zhuang autonomous region

Guangxi offers beautiful natural landscapes and unique karstic rocks, such as the imposing waterfalls of Detian on the border with Vietnam.

Guangdong province

Guangdong province is the southernmost part of China's mainland. Visitors to Guangdong can enjoy 144-hour visa free policy.

Hainan province

Hainan is the name of an island, as well as a province. The weather on the island is like summer all year round.

Shaanxi province

Shaanxi province is located in the Northwest of China. It is regarded as one of the most important cradles of ancient Chinese civilization. It is regarded as one of the most important cradles of ancient Chinese civilization.

Scenic Spot

Scenic Spot

  • Location
    • All
  • Type
    • All


Heilongjiang kicks off winter tourism season

Northeastern China's Heilongjiang province has rolled out 15 winter tourism destinations and 10 ways for visitors to enjoy the winter there.


*Your E-mail Address

Copyright©2020 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号