Anhui University

Updated: Jul 30, 2019 govt.chinadaily.com.cn Print
Anhui University in Hefei, is a provincial key comprehensive university which was jointly built by the Ministry of Education and the Anhui provincial government. [Photo/ahu.edu.cn]

Founded in 1928 in Anqing, in East China's Anhui province, the university moved to Hefei, Anhui's capital in 1956, and in 1958, former chairman Mao Zedong inscribed the name of the university. In 1999, it entered the national 211 project, and in 2017, it was selected by the State as one of the universities to be rated as having word's first-class disciplines.

Occupying more than 213 hectares, the university has four campuses and one Science and Technology Park, with its library having a collection of more than 3.5 million books.

The university has 26 colleges and departments, and offers 95 undergraduate degree programs, covering 10 disciplines: science, engineering, literature, history, philosophy, economics, law, management, education and art. Over years of development, it has established 13 post-doctoral research stations, 15 first-tier disciplines authorized to confer doctoral degrees, and 32 first-tier disciplines to confer master's degrees. It has two first-tier national key disciplines, 25 provincial key disciplines, and two key laboratories of the Ministry of Education.

The university has more than 2,600 faculty members, including 1,600 teaching staff. Among these are over 30 professors and lecturers introduced under national and provincial talent programs, 139 experts who enjoy special allowances awarded by the State Council and the Anhui provincial government.

At present, Anhui University has more than 28,000 students, including over 7,000 graduate students, and it has cultivated more than 300,000 excellent graduates since its founding.

Over the years, the university has attached great importance to international communication and cooperation, and established in-depth partnerships with more than 130 internationally renowned colleges, universities and scientific research institutions across the world, including in the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany and Japan. It has set up three Confucius Institutes and seven China Centers overseas.

Xinyuan Campus: 111 Jiulong Rd, Hefei Economic and Technological Development Area, Hefei, Anhui province
Longhe Campus: 3 Feixi Rd, Hefei, Anhui province
East Campus: 420 Linquan Rd, Yaohai district, Hefei, Anhui province
Shihe Campus: 8 Shihe Rd, Shushan district, Hefei, Anhui province
Science and Technology Park: 2 Tianda Rd, Hefei National High-tech Industry Development Zone, Hefei, Anhui province

Post codes: 230601 (Xinyuan Campus); 230039 (Longhe Campus)

Tel: +86-551-65108097; +86-551-65106714

E-mail: gjshxy@ahu.edu.cn

Copyright©2021 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号