Higher Education

Harbin Medical University

Updated: May 16, 2019 govt.chinadaily.com.cn Print


The main entrance of Harbin Medical University [Photo/VCG]

Founded in 1926, Harbin Medical University (HMU) is a public higher education institution located in the urban setting of the metropolis of Harbin, Heilongjiang.

Officially accredited and recognized by the Department of Education, Heilongjiang province, HMU is a medium-sized coeducational higher education institution. It offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study. International students are welcome to apply for enrollment.

HMU features a glorious history and tradition and is now one of the top medical schools in China. It is now a national base for basic sciences research, and a key "211" university in Heilongjiang Province.

There are more than 10,000 full-time students in the campus, with over 3000 graduate students, and more than 10,000 faculty and staff members.


Aerial view of Harbin Medical University [Photo/VCG]

HMU has defined medical programs. It has been working with Nankai University and Harbin Institute of Technology for jointly teaching seven-year program students. HMU also cooperates with five foreign universities for joint medical programs. It has four first-grade doctorate degree programs including basic medical sciences, clinical medicine, public health and preventive medicine, and biology, 41 second-grade doctorate degree programs, and 49 second-grade master's degree programs. There are 11 undergraduate programs including basic medical sciences, clinical medicine, preventive medicine, dentistry, anesthesiology, medical imaging, nursing, pharmacy, biotechnology, public affairs management and medical law. HMU currently offers five postdoctoral research programs covering preventive medicine, clinical medicine, basic medical sciences, biology and pharmacy, as well as a research program in clinical pharmacy and pharmacology.

HMU also has a reasonable discipline structure. It has one national key discipline, 32 provincial key disciplines, one incubation base of national key laboratories in biomedicine, six key laboratories, and 11 provincial key laboratories of higher education.

Add: 157 Baojian Rd, Nangang district, Harbin, Heilongjiang province

Website: www.hrbmu.edu.cn/index.htm (Chinese)

Copyright©2021 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安备 11010502032503号