Your online guide to government services in China

Capital city of Zhejiang province

Updated: Jul 4, 2018 Print

Population: 9,468,000

Area: 16,596 square kilometers


Hangzhou, the capital of Zhejiang province, is the economic center of the province. In 2017, the city achieved steady economic growth. It realized GDP of 1.2556 trillion yuan ($196.53 billion), at a growth rate of 8 percent, 1.1 percent and 0.2 percent respectively higher than the national and provincial averages. Permanent resident per capita GDP reached 134,604 yuan or $19.94, based on the year's average exchange rate.

In 2017, the city achieved further optimization in industry structure. Hangzhou's primary, secondary and tertiary industries contributed added value of 31.2, 438.7 and 785.7 billion yuan, up 1.9 percent, 5.3 percent and 10.0 percent respectively. The ratio of the three industries is at 2.5:34.9:62.6, with the proportion of tertiary industry having grown by 1.7 percent over the previous year.

Administrative divisions

The city of Hangzhou has jurisdiction over nine urban districts (Shangcheng, Xiacheng, Jianggan, Gongshu, Xihu (West Lake), Binjiang, Xiaoshan, Yuhang, and Fuyang), two county-level cities (Jiande and Lin'an) and two counties (Tonglu and Chun'an). Together they enclose 190 towns (subdistricts), of which there are 23 townships, 75 towns, 92 subdistrs, 1,072 communities, 34 residential quarters and 2,043 administrative villages.

Sister cities


Copyright©2019 China Daily. All rights reserved.