China University of Political Science and Law

Updated: Apr 8, 2018 Print

The China University of Political Science and Law (CUPL) is a “Project 211” university―a government honor bestowed upon China’s finest institutions of higher education. CUPL is well known for legal academics and also enjoys a distinguished reputation in arts, history, philosophy, economics, management, and education. Under the supervision of the State Ministry of Education (MOE), CUPL is located in Beijing on two campuses: the Xueyuan Lu campus in Haidian District and the Fuxue Lu campus in Changping District.

CUPL’s predecessor (The Peking College of Political Science and Law―founded in 1952), combined departments of law, political science and sociology of Peking University, Yenching University, Fu Jen Catholic University, and Tsinghua University.  In 1954, the college moved to Xuyuan Lu, and later in 1983, merged  with the Central Cadres’ College of Political Science, and was subsequently renamed the China University of Political Science and Law. In 1985, the university established a new campus in Changping.  Subsequently, three divisions emerged: an undergraduate school, a postgraduate school, and a school of advanced training.

Over the past 60 years, CUPL has educated and trained more than 200,000 graduates, and has played an active role in key legislative efforts in China. CUPL has assumed a leadership role in China in the development and innovation of legal thought and has played a key role in representing the country in international academic exchanges.

Approximately 16,757 full-time students are currently enrolled in CUPL. Among the full-time students almost 9,319 undergraduate students, approximately 6,633 graduate students, and 805 international students. CUPL’s 968 faculty include 306 full professors, 201 mentors for doctoral postgraduates, 613 mentors for master degree postgraduates, 879 teachers for teaching and scientific research, and 89 student mentors. Nearly nine in ten of CUPL’s full-time faculty members hold doctoral or master degrees.

CUPL comprises 18 schools and departments, 11 university-level research institutes and 7 Collaborative Innovation Centres. CUPL currently offers 24 majors for undergraduates, 78 academic master degree programs, 5 professional master degree programs, 34 doctoral programs, and 3 post-doctoral research centers.

The university collaborates with 235 distinguished universities and institutions in 50 countries. Each year, hundreds of faculty and students travel abroad for international exchanges and studies. The China-EU School of Law (CESL), founded in 2008, is the most comprehensive Sino-EU joint program in the field of legal education and research and is training future international jurists. Since 2009, CUPL has developed full strategy for internationalization to consistently enhance its school-running. In 2012, CUPL has co-established a Confucius Institute (CI) with Bangor University (BU), followed by two other Confucius Institutes with University of Bucharest, Romania and University of the West Indies, Barbados respectively, namely Confucius Institute at the University of Bucharest (CI at UB) in 2013 and Confucius Institute at the University of the West Indies at Cave Hill, Barbados (CI at UWI, Cave Hill) in 2015.

CUPL continues to develop its international reputation―striving for excellence in innovation, multiple disciplines, openness, and international reach.

For more detailed information about CUPL's programs, please click

Editors' Picks


*Your E-mail Address

Copyright©2019 China Daily. All rights reserved.