Anhui University

Updated: Mar 14, 2018 Print


Anhui University, located at Hefei—the beautiful capital of Anhui Province, is one of the developing higher institutions supported by the government under the State “211 Project”, one of the higher institutions co-constructed by Ministry of Education of China and Anhui Provincial Government and the only key comprehensive provincial institution of Anhui Province.

Founded in 1928 in Anqing and moved to Hefei in 1958, Anhui University covers 4 campuses of about 207 hectares. Besides its beautiful scenery and modern facilities, Anhui University has a collection of more than 3.4 million books and over 7,000 Chinese and foreign periodicals. Anhui University consists of 26 schools (departments), 91 undergraduate specialties, 148 master degree programs, 48 PhD. programs, and 13 Postdoctoral Research Stations.

The University has a teaching staff of 1600, among whom more than 800 are professors or associate professors. The student population totals more than 31,000, among whom 21000 are undergraduate students and 6000 are postgraduate students.

The university attaches great importance to the international exchange and cooperation. Now, it has entered into agreements with 118 overseas institutions. Anhui University began to accept foreign students in 1981. It is authorized by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students who enjoy Chinese government’s scholarships. It was designated by Overseas Chinese Affairs Office under the State council the Teaching Base for Chinese Language and Culture in 2000. It was also recognized by Ministry of China as Demonstration Base of Foreign Students Education in 2014.

At present, students from more than 40 countries are studying in Anhui University.

International students are warmly welcomed to study and conduct research at Anhui University!

Application Website:

For more detailed information about AHU's programs, please click

Editors' Picks


*Your E-mail Address

Copyright©2019 China Daily. All rights reserved.